,

UL 1332 20 AWG FEP Wire — 200°C 300V for Appliance Sensor Leads

UL AWM Style 1332 20 AWG FEP wire, rated 200°C and 300 Vac, extruded FEP insulation at 13 mils minimum average / 12 mils minimum at any point, solid or stranded round conductor, Horizontal flame, for internal wiring of appliances — protected sensor-lead connections. The Style defines the wire construction only, not the sensor itself. Optional oil and gasoline resistance are specific qualified provisions, not a general chemical-resistance rating. Conductor material, plating, and termination confirmed per order.

UL 1332 20 AWG FEP Wire for Appliance Internal Sensor Leads

UL AWM Style 1332 20 AWG FEP wire, rated 200°C and 300 Vac, is a specific conductor-size configuration within Style 1332’s broader 30 AWG–10 AWG range, used for protected internal lead wiring inside appliance sensor assemblies. This page focuses on the 20 AWG SKU — its confirmed FEP insulation requirement and the specification fields an RFQ needs — as a defined internal-wiring component, not as a sensor product itself.

UL Style 1332 20 AWG FEP wire cross-section diagram showing conductor, 13 mil FEP insulation, and optional covering

The Confirmed UL 1332 20 AWG Construction

ParameterUL 1332
UL AWM Style1332
DescriptionSingle Conductor with Covering
Featured Conductor Size20 AWG
Style Conductor Range30 AWG – 10 AWG, solid or stranded round
Temperature Rating200°C
Voltage Rating300 Vac
FlameHorizontal flame
InsulationExtruded FEP, 13 mils min. average / 12 mils min. at any point
Optional CoveringExtruded FEP, 2 mils or heavier; or glass braid, 7 mils or heavier
Optional Resistance RatingsOil Resistant 80°C; Gasoline Resistant
UL-Defined UseInternal wiring of appliances

13/12 Mil FEP Insulation at 20 AWG

The confirmed insulation requirement for UL 1332 is extruded FEP at 13 mils minimum average thickness and 12 mils minimum thickness at any point, applying across the Style’s full 30–10 AWG range — this figure is not tiered by conductor size group, so this page does not invent a separate value specific to 20 AWG. This page does not convert this figure into an invented finished outside diameter; conductor geometry, including finished OD, is order-specific.

UL 1332 20 AWG FEP wire routed as internal sensor lead wiring terminating at connector inside appliance assembly

Sensor Lead Wire vs the Sensor Itself: Where the Specification Boundary Sits

This distinction matters for accurate specification. UL AWM Style 1332 defines a wire construction — it does not define, evaluate, or certify a sensor. This page describes the wire used to connect a sensor to a terminal, control board, or other internal component within an appliance assembly; it does not make claims about sensor accuracy, signal integrity, capacitance, impedance, or any electrical characteristic of the sensor circuit itself. If your BOM references a “sensor lead” requirement, confirm whether that requirement concerns the wire construction (covered by this page) or the sensor component (a separate procurement item), since the two are evaluated independently.

20 AWG Does Not Establish Current-Carrying Capacity

This page does not publish a generic ampacity figure simply because the product is 20 AWG, and does not infer allowable current from the 20 AWG conductor size or the 300 Vac voltage rating — these are separate parameters. Current-carrying suitability for a sensor lead depends on the actual conductor construction, sensor circuit design, ambient conditions, and installation, and must be evaluated accordingly rather than assumed from AWG alone.

“Chemical Resistance” Is Not a General UL 1332 Property

UL Style 1332 does not carry a general chemical-resistance rating. What the Style permits are two specific, optional provisions: an Oil Resistant 80°C rating, and a Gasoline Resistant rating. If your sensor assembly may be exposed to oil or gasoline specifically, state that requirement in your RFQ so the applicable optional provision can be confirmed against the qualified construction, rather than requesting generic “chemical resistance.”

Conductor Form, Material, Termination and Connectors: RFQ Fields

UL Style 1332 permits solid or stranded conductor construction at 20 AWG; conductor material and plating are not established by the Style data. This page does not describe UL 1332 20 AWG as a fixed bare-copper or tinned-copper product — if your BOM or drawing specifies a conductor material, plating, terminal, connector, or termination process (soldering, crimping, or both) for the sensor lead, include that in your RFQ so the corresponding construction can be confirmed.

Optional Covering

UL Style 1332 permits an optional covering over the FEP-insulated conductor — either extruded FEP at 2 mils or heavier, or glass braid at 7 mils or heavier. This is not standard on every UL 1332 20 AWG order; if your application requires a covering, specify which type in your RFQ.

Common RFQ Gaps for UL 1332 20 AWG Sensor Leads

Certain specification fields are frequently left out of an initial enquiry and typically require a follow-up before an accurate quotation can be issued. These are common information gaps, not observations about any particular buyer: UL 1332 and 20 AWG are specified but conductor form is missing; conductor finish is omitted; a maximum OD is missing despite connector-space limits; sensor type is mentioned but termination details are omitted; connector or contact information is missing; colour is not specified; an optional covering is assumed but not stated; 600 V is requested after misunderstanding the optional peak marking; generic “chemical resistance” is requested without identifying the actual optional qualified provision needed; a cut length is given without a tolerance; or quantity is given without a packaging requirement. These gaps commonly cause quotation revisions or a supplier mismatch.

What UL 1332 Does Not Automatically Define

The Style data does not automatically define: conductor material, conductor plating, strand count, strand diameter, conductor resistance, ampacity, current rating, sensor signal characteristics, capacitance, impedance, finished OD, bend radius, flex cycles, flexibility class, terminal compatibility, connector compatibility, standard colour, cut-length tolerance, reel length, MOQ, stock status, lead time, or production capacity. These remain RFQ, BOM, or ordered-construction details where relevant — none of them are invented on this page.

Macro cross-section of UL 1332 20 AWG FEP wire showing stranded conductor and thin extruded FEP wall

RFQ Checklist for UL 1332 20 AWG FEP Wire

To request an accurate quotation, please provide:

  • UL AWM Style 1332
  • 20 AWG
  • Solid or stranded
  • Conductor material, if controlled
  • Conductor plating, if controlled
  • 200°C requirement
  • 300 Vac requirement
  • Insulation colour
  • Nominal or maximum finished OD, if controlled
  • Optional covering requirement
  • Optional oil / gasoline qualification, if required
  • Terminal / contact information
  • Connector information
  • Termination process
  • Cut length, if applicable
  • Quantity
  • Reel or packaging requirement
  • Destination
  • Documentation requirements

Applicable RoHS / REACH documentation can be confirmed according to the ordered construction.

See the UL1332 FEP Wire category, our Fluoropolymer Wire range, or our AWM Wire category for other conductor sizes within this Style.

Scroll to Top