UL 5128 Mica Glass Wire for Vietnam Export
This is the Vietnam export and procurement page for UL AWM Style 5128 mica glass wire. It is written for buyers in Vietnam sourcing Style 5128 against a drawing, BOM or equipment specification, and for equipment OEMs, sourcing teams and maintenance departments preparing an enquiry for shipment into Vietnam.
The Style record describes Style 5128 as a single or multiple conductor construction with other-than-extruded insulation, rated 450°C and 300 Vac, with a Horizontal Flame designation. The conductor range is 24 AWG–4 AWG, solid or stranded, and the insulation is non-extruded mica tape or a mica composite, with a treated glass braid whose thickness requirement changes across two conductor-size groups.
A Style designation fixes a construction, not a complete purchase specification. The ordered wire is confirmed against the customer’s drawing, BOM, equipment specification and required marking. This page sets out what the Style fixes, what it leaves open, and what a Vietnam buyer needs to state for a quotation to be prepared.

Confirmed UL Style 5128 Construction and Ratings
| Parameter | Requirement |
|---|---|
| UL AWM Style | 5128 |
| Product Description | Single or Multiple conductor with other-than-extruded insulation |
| Temperature Rating | 450°C |
| Voltage Rating | 300 Vac |
| Flame | Horizontal Flame |
| Style Conductor Range | 24 AWG–4 AWG |
| Conductor Form | Solid or stranded |
| Insulation | Non-extruded mica tape, or mica composite; for a mica composite construction the applicable requirements are confirmed from the qualified construction |
| Optional Shield | Stainless steel, alloy 304, applied as a braid over the treated glass braid |
| Optional Assembly | Two or more conductors described by the Style may be cabled together with a maximum O.D. of 1.500 inches; a mica glass binder and/or fiberglass fillers may be employed; the assembly may have an overall treated glass braid |
| Marking | General |
| Official Use | Internal Wiring of high-temperature equipment where not subjected to repeated flexing and protected from mechanical abuse. (The acceptability, including current-carrying capacity, has been determined by Underwriters Laboratories Inc.) |
| Documentation | UL marking and compliance documents according to the confirmed ordered construction |
| RoHS / REACH | Applicable RoHS / REACH documentation can be confirmed according to the ordered construction |
| Conductor AWG size | Total mica tape layers — minimum average thickness | Glass braid treated with Silicone Varnish or TFE Finish — minimum average thickness |
|---|---|---|
| 24–12 | 15 mils | 7 mils |
| 11–4 | 20 mils | 15 mils |
Nine points to clarify about the tables above:
- Both figures in each row are minimum average thickness values. The record states no minimum-at-any-point value for this Style.
- The two groups are separate. The 15/7 mil figures apply to 24–12 AWG and the 20/15 mil figures to 11–4 AWG.
- The thickness table corresponds to the non-extruded mica tape route. Where a mica composite construction is used, the applicable requirements are confirmed from the qualified construction rather than read from this table.
- The conductor range is 24 AWG–4 AWG, solid or stranded, with no size-dependent form restriction in this Style record.
- The Style covers a single or multiple conductor construction, and the cabled assembly is an optional provision.
- 1.500 inches is the maximum O.D. under that assembly provision, not the outer diameter of a single conductor.
- The stainless steel alloy 304 shield is optional and is applied as a braid over the treated glass braid.
- Conductor material, plating, strand count, strand diameter and lay length are not defined by the Style.
- Finished OD, OD tolerance, conductor resistance, bend radius, flex life and ampacity are not defined by the Style, and no comparison with another Style’s dimensions appears in the record.
450°C and 300 Vac
The Style rating is 450°C, stated without a duty or service-duration qualifier. This page does not describe it as continuous, sustained or continuous-duty, and derives no service life, thermal cycling count or thermal margin from it. It also does not describe the rating as fire-survival performance: the flame designation is Horizontal Flame, and fire-resistant, fireproof and circuit-integrity descriptions are not claimed, nor are VW-1, FT1 or vertical flame designations.
The voltage rating is 300 Vac. The record gives no DC rating, so this page does not state that Style 5128 covers 24 V DC, 0–10 V or 4–20 mA circuits, and it does not conclude that a low circuit voltage or a millivolt signal level makes the wire appropriate for a given measurement, control or instrumentation function. Circuit function is determined by the equipment design and the customer’s approved specification.
Non-Extruded Mica Tape or Mica Composite
The insulation entry offers two routes: non-extruded mica tape, or a mica composite. The published thickness table belongs to the mica tape route, while the mica composite route refers to separate requirements in the record. A buyer whose drawing calls for a composite construction should say so, and the applicable requirements are then confirmed for that qualified construction rather than assumed to match the tape values.
In either case the construction includes a glass braid treated with Silicone Varnish or TFE Finish. That is a braid treatment, not a separate insulation system, and this page does not restate it as silicone insulation or PTFE insulation.
Thickness by Conductor Size Group
For 24–12 AWG, total mica tape layers must meet 15 mils minimum average and the treated glass braid 7 mils. For 11–4 AWG the figures are 20 mils and 15 mils. Every value is a minimum average, and each belongs to its own group: applying the 15/7 mil figures to a 6 AWG requirement, for example, would understate the requirement that actually applies.
These values also belong to Style 5128 alone. Thickness figures published for other mica Styles are not transferable, even where a temperature rating looks similar, and the record contains no statement that one Style’s wall is thinner or thicker than another’s.

Conductor Range and Form
The Style range is 24 AWG–4 AWG, solid or stranded. Unlike some other mica Styles, this record applies no size-dependent form restriction, so both forms remain available across the range unless the buyer’s drawing controls one.
The Style does not define the conductor material or finish. Copper, bare copper, tinned copper, nickel-plated copper and silver-plated copper are constructions a buyer may specify, not properties this page can assert, and no conductor plating is recommended here on the basis of the temperature rating. Strand count, strand diameter, lay construction, stranding classes and flexibility grades are absent from the record and are treated as RFQ fields.
Style scope is not inventory. Not every size or configuration is regularly produced or held, and availability is confirmed per enquiry.
Optional Stainless Steel Shield and Optional Cabled Assembly
Two optional provisions appear in the record.
Shield. A stainless steel, alloy 304 braid may be applied over the treated glass braid. It is optional, so it is present only where specified and confirmed, and the record assigns it no performance function such as mechanical protection, abrasion resistance or screening effectiveness. Those are not claimed here.
Cabled assembly. Two or more conductors described by the Style may be cabled together within a maximum O.D. of 1.500 inches, with a mica glass binder and/or fiberglass fillers employed as required, and the assembly may have an overall treated glass braid. The number of conductors, the fillers, the binder and the overall braid are all configuration-dependent and confirmed from the drawing or BOM. This page primarily represents single-conductor supply, and the provision is disclosed as Style scope.
Official Use and Its Three Elements
The official Use is “Internal Wiring of high-temperature equipment where not subjected to repeated flexing and protected from mechanical abuse. (The acceptability, including current-carrying capacity, has been determined by Underwriters Laboratories Inc.)”
Internal wiring of high-temperature equipment. The Use is internal, and it is not extended to building or field wiring, external equipment wiring, portable cord or installation cable. Buyer contexts may include internal wiring in thermal equipment such as ovens, dryers, furnaces or kilns, but those are the buyer’s own equipment contexts rather than UL-approved uses, and compliance of the finished equipment is established at the equipment level.
Not subjected to repeated flexing. The wire is not presented for continuous flexing, dynamic routing, drag chains, hinged routes, moving equipment doors or robotic motion.
Protected from mechanical abuse. Protection at the routing position comes from the equipment design. The construction includes a glass braid and may include a stainless steel braid, but the record does not state that either provides mechanical protection, so neither is presented as satisfying this condition.
The parenthetical statement that acceptability, including current-carrying capacity, has been determined by Underwriters Laboratories Inc. is also part of the Use. This page therefore publishes no ampacity or current-by-AWG figure and derives none from conductor size, the 450°C rating or the 300 Vac rating. Current-carrying capacity for a given installation is evaluated through the buyer’s equipment design and the applicable approval process.

Dimensions and Cross-Style Comparison
The Style publishes minimum average thicknesses and one maximum O.D. for the cabled assembly provision. It does not publish a finished outer diameter for any individual size, an OD tolerance, a conductor resistance, a minimum bend radius or a flex rating.
Finished dimensions depend on the actual conductor construction, the insulation route used, how the mica is applied, the braid construction, any shield, the number of conductors and fillers in an assembly, and manufacturing dimensions. An OD calculated from a generic conductor diameter plus the minimum thicknesses is not a valid product dimension, and neither is a claim that one Style yields a smaller finished wire than another at the same AWG. Where clearance, resistance or bending is controlled, the buyer states the limit and the proposed construction is checked against it.
Style selection itself follows the same discipline. Where a drawing specifies Style 5128, that is the Style quoted. A different Style is not substituted because its ratings appear compatible, and no equivalence between mica Styles is asserted on this page.
How to Specify UL 5128 for a Vietnam RFQ
A complete Style 5128 enquiry combines the Style requirement with the parameters the Style leaves open: AWG, conductor count, solid or stranded, conductor material and plating where the drawing controls them, whether a shield is required, maximum OD or OD tolerance where controlled, the internal wiring location, how the wire is mechanically protected there, whether repeated flexing is present, required marking, compliance documents, quantity, packaging, destination and Incoterm.
Current-carrying capacity is not fixed by this page. It is evaluated by the buyer’s equipment design and the applicable approval process, and a stated circuit requirement can be passed to engineering review rather than converted into an ampere figure here.
Vietnam Export and Procurement Context
Vietnam is the destination and procurement context for this page. Buyers in Vietnam may search for Style 5128 when a drawing or BOM requires a 450°C, 300 Vac mica-insulated AWM wire, whether for an equipment build, an export equipment programme or a maintenance replacement. In each case the final Style selection comes from the drawing, BOM or engineering specification rather than from a supplier listing.
CableApex coordinates international sales, RFQ communication, export documentation review and order confirmation for qualified AWM wire supply. No Vietnamese industry demand, usage practice or named facility is claimed here, and destination city or port, Incoterm, packaging and quantity are handled per enquiry rather than published as fixed terms.
What Style 5128 Does and Does Not Define
Style 5128 defines:
- 450°C temperature rating and 300 Vac voltage rating
- Horizontal Flame
- a single or multiple conductor construction with other-than-extruded insulation
- conductor range 24 AWG–4 AWG, solid or stranded
- non-extruded mica tape, or mica composite, with a glass braid treated with Silicone Varnish or TFE Finish
- minimum average mica tape thickness of 15 mils for 24–12 AWG and 20 mils for 11–4 AWG
- minimum average treated glass braid thickness of 7 mils for 24–12 AWG and 15 mils for 11–4 AWG
- an optional stainless steel alloy 304 braid over the treated glass braid
- an optional cabled assembly to a maximum O.D. of 1.500 inches, with optional binder, fillers and overall treated glass braid
- Marking: General
- the Use limitations on repeated flexing and mechanical abuse, with acceptability including current-carrying capacity determined by Underwriters Laboratories Inc.
Style 5128 does not universally define:
- conductor material, plating, strand count, strand diameter or lay length
- finished OD of an individual conductor, OD tolerance, bend radius, flex cycles or flex class
- conductor resistance, ampacity, current rating or metric cross-section
- a DC voltage rating
- thermocouple, RTD, instrumentation, control or ignition circuit suitability
- a mechanical protection function for the glass braid or the optional shield
- equipment ambient temperature at any routing position
- any dimensional, material or cost relationship with another mica Style
- colour or identification, reel length, MOQ, stock, lead time, production capacity or shipping term
Common Procurement Errors
- Writing “450°C continuous” or adding any duty qualifier to the rating.
- Assuming the only difference between mica Styles is voltage, or that their insulation systems are identical.
- Deriving a finished OD, or a comparison of finished ODs, from minimum thickness values.
- Assuming the conductor is nickel-plated or bare copper.
- Omitting the 24 AWG–4 AWG range, or importing another Style’s size-dependent form rules.
- Applying the 24–12 AWG values to an 11–4 AWG requirement.
- Reading the mica tape thickness table as applicable to a mica composite construction.
- Quoting a minimum-at-any-point value the record does not contain.
- Treating the optional stainless steel shield or the cabled assembly as standard.
- Treating 1.500 inches as the OD of a single conductor.
- Stating a DC rating, or concluding that low circuit voltage establishes suitability.
- Presenting the wire as thermocouple extension, instrumentation or burner control wire as an approved use.
- Deriving ampacity from conductor size or the ratings.
- Relying on the braid or shield instead of protecting the wire from mechanical abuse, or using it where repeated flexing is present.
- Treating component Style recognition as equipment-level listing compliance.
RFQ Information to Confirm
Style, ratings and construction
- UL AWM Style 5128 requirement
- 450°C temperature rating requirement
- 300 Vac requirement, or the application-specific voltage requirement within the Style rating
- AWG and conductor count
- Solid or stranded construction
- Whether a mica tape or mica composite construction is required
- Whether the optional stainless steel shield is required
- Whether a cabled assembly is required, with binder or filler requirements
Conductor
- Conductor material and plating requirement, if controlled by the drawing
- Strand construction, if controlled
- Maximum conductor resistance, if controlled
Dimensions and identification
- Maximum OD and OD tolerance, if controlled
- Colour, marking or conductor identification requirement
Application references
- Internal wiring location and the mechanical protection method at that position
- Whether repeated flexing is present
- The circuit requirement for engineering review, rather than a self-derived ampacity
- Drawing, BOM or equipment specification
Commercial
- Quantity and packaging preference
- Destination in Vietnam and requested Incoterm
- Requested UL marking and compliance documents, including any RoHS / REACH documentation requirement
UL Marking and Documentation
CableApex is an international sales and export company and does not hold a UL File for Style 5128. Supplied wire is UL-recognized component wire where supplied under a qualified manufacturing scope, with UL marking according to the confirmed ordered construction. The Style record lists Marking as General.
Applicable RoHS / REACH documentation can be confirmed according to the ordered construction. CSA, FT1, VW-1, CE and dual UL/CSA designations are not claimed here.
Commercial, origin, compliance and transport documents are identified during quotation and confirmed according to the order. They are not supplied as a fixed package with every shipment.




