UL 5334 11–4 AWG Mica Glass Wire — 20/10 Mil Construction
UL AWM Style 5334 is a single conductor with other-than-extruded insulation, rated 450°C and 300 Vac with a Horizontal flame classification. Its insulation and braid are described as “Non-extruded Mica with Glass Braid,” with thickness set by conductor-size group. For 11 AWG through 4 AWG, the Style requires a minimum average wall of 20 mils of Composite Mica Glass and a minimum average thickness of 10 mils of treated Glass Braid.
This page covers that 11–4 AWG construction: what the two minimum-average requirements mean, how the braid treatment is worded, which conductor forms apply, and the conditions in the Style’s Use. For the broader Style overview, see the UL 5334 Mica Wire category.

Verified UL 5334 11–4 AWG Technical Specifications
| Parameter | UL AWM Style 5334 record, applied to 11–4 AWG |
|---|---|
| Style | 5334 |
| Description | Single conductor with other-than-extruded insulation |
| Conductor group | 11 AWG – 4 AWG (within the 24 AWG – 4 AWG Style range) |
| Conductor form | Solid or stranded |
| Temperature | 450°C |
| Voltage | 300 Vac |
| Flame | Horizontal flame |
| Insulation and braid | Non-extruded Mica with Glass Braid |
| Composite Mica Glass | 20 mils (0.51 mm) minimum average wall |
| Treated Glass Braid | 10 mils (0.25 mm) minimum average thickness |
| Braid treatment | Silicone Varnish or TFE Finish |
| Optional shield | Stainless steel, alloy 304, applied as a braid over the treated glass braid |
| Marking | General |
| Use | Wiring of ovens or similar high-temperature equipment where protected from mechanical abuse and where the acceptability, including current-carrying capacity, has been determined by Underwriters Laboratories Inc. |
Four points in this table need clarification. First, the millimetre values are arithmetic conversions (1 mil = 0.0254 mm), not separate UL specifications. Second, both thickness values are minimum averages; the record states no minimum-at-any-point value. Third, Style 5334 is a single-conductor Style; its record lists no multiple-conductor assembly. Fourth, the record does not state a conductor material or plating; these are confirmed according to the qualified ordered construction.
20 Mil Minimum-Average Composite Mica Glass
The Style’s thickness table is headed “Min Avg wall of Composite Mica Glass.” For 11–4 AWG the value is 20 mils (0.51 mm by unit conversion). The average wall of the composite mica glass layer must not fall below 20 mils.
The 20-mil figure is a minimum average. It is not nominal, exact or typical, and it is not a minimum at any point. The actual wall of an ordered construction may exceed it, and no tolerance is attached to it.
The record names the material “Composite Mica Glass” within an insulation described as “Non-extruded Mica with Glass Braid.” It does not describe the composite’s internal makeup, mica type or manufacturing process, and none is described here. The record also makes no comparison between composite mica glass and mica tape, and no cohesion, adhesion, handling or crack-resistance property is attributed to it. Style 5334 is not described as MI cable or as conventional mineral-insulated cable.
10 Mil Minimum-Average Treated Glass Braid
Over the composite mica glass is a glass braid. For 11–4 AWG, the Style requires a minimum average braid thickness of 10 mils (0.25 mm by unit conversion). As with the composite layer, this is a minimum average only; it is not nominal or exact, and no point minimum is stated.
The two values describe two separate layers and are not added together here as a single wall. Neither the finished outside diameter nor the conductor diameter is derived from them. Where a drawing controls finished diameter or its tolerance, that requirement is stated in the RFQ and confirmed for the ordered construction.
Silicone Varnish or TFE Finish
The braid column of the Style table is headed “Glass Braid Treated with Silicone Varnish or TFE Finish.” Both treatments are permitted, and the Style does not tie either one to a temperature or rank them. They are finishes on the glass braid, not primary insulation: silicone varnish is not silicone rubber insulation, and TFE finish is not PTFE insulation. The record makes no statement about their relative flexibility, abrasion or chemical behaviour, cost or life. Where a drawing requires one treatment, it is confirmed for the ordered construction.
Solid or Stranded Construction from 11 to 4 AWG
The conductor field reads “24 AWG – 4 AWG, solid or stranded.” Both forms are permitted across the whole Style range, so every size from 11 AWG to 4 AWG may be solid or stranded. The Style does not rank one form over the other.
The record does not define conductor material, plating, strand count, strand diameter, conductor class, lay length or stranding method, and it gives no conductor resistance or current rating. These are confirmed according to the qualified ordered construction.
“Single conductor” in the Style description refers to the construction as a whole. A stranded conductor is still one conductor, and the Style does not provide for cabling several insulated conductors together.
450°C / 300 Vac / Horizontal Flame
The rating field reads “450 deg C, 300 Vac, Horizontal flame.” 450°C is the rated temperature; the record does not describe it as continuous, sustained or long-term. 300 Vac is the only voltage rating; no DC, peak or higher AC value applies, and Style 5334 is not described here as a variant of any other Style. Horizontal flame is the flame classification. VW-1, FT1, FT2 and vertical flame are not Style-wide properties; any additional flame result for a specific qualified construction remains specific to that construction.
The rating is the same for both thickness groups. The 11–4 AWG requirements do not change the temperature, voltage or flame rating.
Optional Stainless Steel Alloy 304 Braid
The Shield entry reads: “Optional. stainless steel, alloy 304, applied as a braid over the treated glass braid.” It is an optional construction, not a requirement for 11–4 AWG or any other size. The record establishes the option’s material, form and position only. It does not establish shielding effectiveness, abrasion, chemical, corrosion, crush or thermal protection, and none is claimed here. Whether the option is required is stated in the RFQ.
Oven and Similar High-Temperature Equipment Wiring
The Use reads: “Wiring of ovens or similar high-temperature equipment where protected from mechanical abuse and where the acceptability, including current-carrying capacity, has been determined by Underwriters Laboratories Inc.” It has three parts:
- Wiring of ovens or similar high-temperature equipment: the Use names ovens directly and extends to similar high-temperature equipment. It does not list specific oven or kiln types, and suitability for a particular piece of equipment depends on the actual design.
- Protected from mechanical abuse: exposed routing, direct mechanical wear, open, tray, building, field, outdoor and direct-burial wiring fall outside the Use. Neither the glass braid nor the optional SS304 braid removes this condition.
- Acceptability, including current-carrying capacity, determined by UL: current capacity is not a Style-level figure. No current rating is given for any size from 11 to 4 AWG, and none is derived from conductor size or general wiring-code tables.
The Style 5334 Use contains no repeated-flexing clause, and none is added here.
How the 11–4 AWG Group Differs from the 24–12 AWG Group
| Conductor size group | Composite Mica Glass, min avg wall | Treated Glass Braid, min avg thickness |
|---|---|---|
| 24 – 12 AWG | 17 mils | 5 mils |
| 11 – 4 AWG (this page) | 20 mils | 10 mils |
Two points in this table need clarification. First, the difference between the groups is limited to these minimum-average values; each group’s values apply only to its own sizes, and 12 AWG uses 17/5 while 11 AWG uses 20/10. Second, the record does not state that the larger values give higher voltage capability, greater dielectric strength, higher current capacity, better abrasion resistance, longer life or a higher temperature rating. Both groups share the same 450°C, 300 Vac, Horizontal flame rating.
What Style 5334 Does and Does Not Define
For 11–4 AWG, the Style record defines the single-conductor construction; the rating (450°C, 300 Vac, Horizontal flame); the conductor form (solid or stranded); the insulation and braid (non-extruded mica with glass braid); the 20-mil minimum-average composite mica glass wall; the 10-mil minimum-average treated glass braid; the braid treatments; the optional SS304 braid; the marking field (General); and the Use.
The Style record does not define:
- conductor material, plating or strand construction
- conductor resistance or current rating
- minimum-at-any-point thicknesses
- finished outside diameter or tolerance
- the composition of the composite mica glass
- any multiple-conductor assembly
- a repeated-flexing restriction, bend radius or service life
Common Procurement Errors
- Applying the 17/5 mil values of 24–12 AWG to 11–4 AWG.
- Treating 20 or 10 mils as nominal or point minimums.
- Adding the two values into a single wall or diameter figure.
- Specifying Style 5334 as a multi-conductor cable.
- Assuming a conductor material or plating.
- Assigning a current rating by AWG.
- Treating the optional SS304 braid as mandatory or as protection against mechanical abuse.
- Describing the rating as continuous or adding a DC value.
How to Specify UL 5334 11–4 AWG Mica Glass Wire in an RFQ
The Style fixes the single-conductor construction, the rating, the conductor forms, the 20/10 mil minimum averages, the braid treatments, the optional SS304 braid and the Use. The following should be stated by the buyer and confirmed for the ordered qualified construction, not filled with assumed values:
- AWG size from 11–4 AWG
- solid or stranded requirement
- conductor material and plating requirement
- detailed stranding, if controlled
- finished OD or tolerance, if controlled
- silicone varnish or TFE finish requirement, if controlled
- optional stainless steel alloy 304 braid required: yes / no
- wire marking requirement
- quantity
- packaging
- documentation requirement
- oven or similar equipment type
- protected routing condition
- current requirement or applicable end-equipment qualification information
UL Marking and Documentation
Style 5334 wire is supplied as UL-recognized component wire where supplied under qualified manufacturing scope. The marking field of the Style record reads “General”; it does not prescribe a fixed legend. UL marking is applied according to the confirmed ordered construction and should be confirmed at the order stage.
Applicable RoHS / REACH documentation can be confirmed according to the ordered construction. CE, UKCA, CSA, FT1, VW-1, CPR, VDE, DIN, EN and IEC are not declared for this product.
Commercial, origin, compliance and transport documents are identified during quotation and confirmed according to the order.







